I LOVE hosting parties (big or small).  The preparation.  The serving.  The laughter.  The full bellies.  The memories made.  Not so much the clean up…but it’s worth it.  Last week, I had some of my “original” small group girls over for dinner.  I moved on to a new group last year so I don’t get to see these awesome women nearly enough now.  It was fun to be able to have them over for a casual dinner and a chance to catch up and laugh.

I kept it low key and used what I have for decor.  I think it turned out pretty cute for not buying anything new (You’re welcome, honey!) and being really simple and entertaining my babies while getting it ready on a short time schedule.

Starfish on the napkins (really wanted some twine to tie around them but couldn’t find any in my stash).  Vases filled with sand and candles.  Glass ball sea looking things.  Like I said…I used what I had.

I served the Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Salad with Blueberries, Corn, and Feta (omitted celery…best part of being the cook is you get to leave out anything you don’t like!).  It was so good!  Definitely a keeper recipe.  Her blog has some great recipes…but most of them are heavy on the butter.  So beware!

Delicious!

I also made a Avocado, Mango,& Pineapple Salad with Pistachios from Cook Fresh (the best of fine cooking) magazine.  It is such a light, fresh salad.  Perfect for summer time.  I can send the recipe to anyone that wants it!  We will probably be having this weekly until I burn out on it…it is that good.

Perfect Summer Salad

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a group pic…but the best part of the whole evening was THE COMPANY.  Love you ladies!

