My humble opinion of the places in and around Santa Fe that I visited (or wanted to visit):

SHOPPING—-

THE PLAZA:  You should go just because that it what people do in Santa Fe.  If you LOVE southwestern jewelry, that is the place to find it!

RECOLLECTIONS:  It is a resale shop, but not resale prices.  Wonderful, unique items.  Some of it was brand new…people bought and decided not to use.  I could have gone crazy here!  Joseph was lucky we had a full vehicle.  Ottomans, lamps, fixtures, tables, pillows.  Really cool items.

JACKALOPE:  Neat furniture and architectural pieces.  Randoms doors.  Fun tables and hutches.  Bring a trailer!

FLEA MARKET IN TESUQUE:  Bust.  We went on Sunday morning.  Not much to see, most of it was junk.  I did get a neat canvas bag that was woven in France.  Hard to justify trekking out to the flea market for one booth.

THE FLEA (by the race tracks):  I missed this, but Jennifer said it was better than the other flea market.   I heard that Designer Mary Emmerling has a booth here.  Worth a shot!

EATING:

ORE HOUSE (restaurant on the Plaza):  Food and service was mediocre at best, but we sat on the balcony and had a great view for people watching.  They were even filming a movie (Odd Thomas) directly below us.

MARISCOS:  FABULOUS hole in the wall seafood spot.  Very casual with GREAT fish tacos (with Mahi Mahi).  Yum!  Also, a delicious vera cruz sauce.  Just across from the Trader Joes (which we didn’t make it into).

STEAKSMITH:  Good meal, but loud.  Ambience wasn’t anything special.

TESUQUE VILLAGE MARKET:  Awesome.  Sit outside.  People watch.  Enjoy the weather…and the french toast made with croissants.  I couldn’t bring myself to order it, so I made Ben order it and I just stole a few bites.  Totally worth it.  I had some tasty fish tacos.   Good guac, too.  Desserts looked delicious, but we were too full to eat any.

GAS STATION IN PECOS:  Trust me.  Fresh, delicious southwestern food.  Take it home with you for a relaxing evening after a long hike. Don’t forget a six pack.  You won’t regret it…but beware of the green sauce.  It’s spicy!  Stock up on the salsa.  Aaahh.  Salsa, chips, and a beer while watching your guys fish.  It’s the good stuff.

TO DO (Besides enjoying the great outdoors by hiking, fishing,:

GLASS BLOWING (in Tesuque):  Fun to watch!  Stop by if you need to kill 30 minutes.  Their creations are beautiful.  There is a peacock roaming around outside and a coop with a rooster and chickens in back.

SHIDONI SCULPTURE PARK (next to Glass Blowing):   Kids can run through here to burn some energy before going into the glass blowing shop.  Some interesting pieces!

MIRACULOUS STAIRCASE (in Santa Fe): Didn’t make it here, but I wanted to.  Next time! That’s all that I can think of for now…will update if I come up with anything else!

