Just can’t wait to get back on the road again.  Well, maybe I can.  We just got back from a 10 day trip to Jennifer and Lin’s new place in New Mexico.  16 hour drive there (with an hour stop at Cabela’s…you know, for the kids to stretch their legs) and 15 hours back.  The kiddos did remarkably well.  I only had a couple of meltdowns.  Pretty good!

This is what one side of the car looked like.  Sorry, it is a fuzzy phone pic.

This is how we roll...

I really don’t know how people with smaller cars manage.  I drive an Excursion.  I love my big girl, and she gets filled up A LOT.  For a LONG drive and 10 days there, we really packed it in.  To keep my sanity, I went with the plastic container method.  1 for diapers/wipes/creams.  1 for formula/baby food/bibs/bottles.  1 for kid/adult snacks.  1 for kids reading books/activity books/colors.  1 for toys.  Plus, a blanket for each kid and a pallet for us (when we needed a rest).  We were able to stay somewhat organized…but there was still junk and trash everywhere when we made it to our destination.  I can’t imagine what it would have looked like with out my container method!

More on the trip to follow.  I am breaking up the trip into a few posts (travel, time at the cabin, out & about).

